Amavubi History

2. Rwanda U23 National Team
Rwanda will take part in the qualification phase of the 2015 CAF U-23 Championship decided the participating teams of the final tournament.

A total of eight teams will play in the final tournament, to be hosted by the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

First Round
First leg
*Rwanda v Somalia
Libya v Mauritania
Ghana v Liberia
Botswana v Kenya
Zimbabwe v Swaziland
Guinea-Bissau v Sierra Leone

Second leg
*Somalia v Rwanda
Mauritania v Libya
Liberia v Ghana
Kenya v Botswana
Swaziland v Zimbabwe
Sierra Leone v Guinea-Bissau

Second Round
The following teams received a bye to this round:
South Africa

First leg
*Rwanda /Somalia v Uganda
Libya /Mauritania v Mali
Ghana /Liberia v Congo
Botswana /Kenya v Zambia
Zimbabwe /Swaziland v South Africa
Guinea-Bissau /Sierra Leone v Cameroon
Tunisia v Sudan

Second leg
*Uganda v Rwanda/ Somalia
Mali v Libya/ Mauritania
Congo v Ghana/ Liberia
Zambia v Botswana/ Kenya
South Africa v Zimbabwe/ Swaziland
Cameroon v Guinea-Bissau/ Sierra Leone
Sudan v Tunisia

Third round:
The draw was announced on 20 September 2014.
The following teams received a bye to this round:
Ivory Coast

First leg
*Rwanda /Somalia or Uganda v Egypt
Libya /Mauritania or Mali v Gabon
Ghana /Liberia or Congo v Nigeria
Botswana /Kenya or Zambia v Ivory Coast
Zimbabwe /Swaziland or South Africa v Senegal
Guinea-Bissau /Sierra Leone or Cameroon v Algeria
Morocco v Tunisia/ Sudan

Second leg
*Egypt v Rwanda/ Somalia or Uganda
Gabon v Libya/ Mauritania or Mali
Nigeria v Ghana/ Liberia or Congo
Ivory Coast v Botswana/ Kenya or Zambia
Senegal v Zimbabwe/ Swazilandor South Africa
Algeria v Guinea-Bissau/ Sierra Leone or Cameroon
Tunisia /Sudan v Morocco

3. Rwanda U17 National Team
The Rwanda national under-17 football team represents Rwanda in association football at the under-17 age level and is controlled by the FédérationRwandaise de Football Association.

The team competes in the African U-17 Championship and the FIFA U-17 World Cup, which are both held every two years.

Rwanda participated in the FIFA U-17 World Cup for the first time in 2011, having finished second in the 2011 African U-17 Championship on home soil. However, they were eliminated in the group stage after suffering defeat against England and Uruguay, and playing to a draw against Canada.

The team is currently coached by Briton Lee Johnson who also acts as the National Technical Director. He has vast experience and has worked with different English top academies such as Chelsea.